Titles for the theses I’ll never write

I’ve been consuming a lot of pop culture lately. It’s a consequence of living in a city where you can only go out at night if you’re willing to shell out 20-30 usd on taxis every time.

Anyway, I’ve been watching many shows, reading some books (not as many as I’d like), and listening to a lot of metal. Since I’m already feeling pressured because I still don’t have a topic for my thesis, but I sure have had some ideas:

  • “‘You Become a Man When You Put On The Wings’: Masculinities and Patriarchy in the Battlestar Galactica. The Case of the Adamas.”
  • “Can you rape a machine? The Case against Admiral Cain Based on Humanitarian Law.”
  • “Nobody Asked the Whale: The Doctor As an Example of Empowering Research.”
  • “‘Hell Bent For Leather:’ Changes in Heteronormativity and Male Stereotypes in the Heavy Metal Scene since the 1970s.”
  • “We Are All Starbuck: The Need for PTSD Treatment for the Galactica Pilots”
  • “From Doro to Gosow: the Evolution of the Female Lead in Heavy Metal.”
  • “Tugging the Braid: A Gendered Analysis of The Wheel of Time.”
  • Demand Peace! A Livelihoods Analysis of Terrorist Movements in Battlestar Galactica.”
  • “In The Halls of Mandos. An Inquiry into Elvish Privilege in Middle Earth.”
  • “Rus! The Rise of Slavic Pride and Nationalism in Heavy Metal”
  • “For the Watch! Jon Snow and the Need to Address Spoilers During Peace Efforts.”
  • “All Along the Watchtower: The Contact Hypothesis and Improvement in Human-Cylon Relations”

I’m sure I’ll have more ideas soon.

And yes, I’m binge-watching Battlestar Galactica. Everyone should.

Leave a Reply

